6th Annual ACAP Conference

ACAP Conference Registration

ACAP member registration will allow ACAP members to participate in the ACAP stream of the APSRC on Thursday 6 December and the ACAP Conference on Friday 7 December. The cost of attendance is covered by ACAP. Please click here to register.

APSRC Registration:

If ACAP members want to participate in the wider conference, they can take advantage of discount registration. Please click here for APSRC and select 'APVI members' on the registration form. 

NOTE: As stated above, to attend the ACAP Conference on Friday 7 December, please register separately here.


Day 1. Thursday 6 December 2018
Venue: Colombo Theatres, UNSW Sydney

8.30 – 9.00



KEYNOTES SESSION (Chair: Richard Corkish)



9.00 – 9.30

Keynote Speaker  Damien Giurco

"Global Renewable energy pathways towards 1.5 degrees”

9.30 – 10.00

Keynote Speaker  Jeana Hao

“The steady rise of green kesterite solar cells”

10.00 – 10.30

Keynote Speaker  Peter G. Loutzenhiser

“Pathways to fuels and electricity using concentrated sunlight”

10.30 – 11.00



ACAP 1 SESSION (Chair: Mei Gao)

11.00 – 11.30

ACAP Invited Speaker Ryan Desharnais

“PV R&D and Quality at DNV-GL Labs”

11.30 – 11.45

ANU: Azul Osorio Mayon, Christopher Jones, Katherine Booker, Matthew Stocks and Andrew Blakers

“Microconcentrators for Tandem GaAs/Si solar cells”

11.45 – 12.00

UNSW: Alison Ciesla
"Hydrogenation in low-cost silicon"

12.00 – 12.15

UoM: Valerie Mitchell (ACAP Fellow)
“Amphiphilic block copolymers for morphology control in organic solar cells”

12.15 – 12.30

UQ: Meera Stephen (title TBA)

12.30 – 12.45

Monash: Sebastian Furer (title TBA)



13.00 – 14.00



ACAP 1 SESSION (Chair: Alison Lennon)

14.00 – 14.15

UQ: Wei (Larry) Jiang (title TBA)

14.15 – 14.30

UoM: David Jones
“Liquid crystallinity as a self-assembly motif for high efficiency, solution processed, solid state singlet fission materials”

14.30 – 14.45

CSIRO: Chuantian (Tony) Zuo
“Self-formed Two-dimensional Perovskite Films for 2D Perovskite Solar Cells”

14.45 – 15.00

Monash: JianFeng Lu (title TBA)

15.00 – 15.15

UNSW: Ziv Hameiri (title TBA)

15.15 – 15.30

ANU: Kean Chern Fong, Teng Kho, WenSheng Liang, Matt Stocks and Andrew Blakers
“Progress and Development of IBC cells at ANU”

15.30 – 16.00


16.00 – 17.00

ACAP Posters Session

17.00 – 17.15

Closing Ceremony / Awards Presentation

17.15 – 18.00





Jegadesan Subbiah

“Low-temperature solution processed metal oxide nanoparticles for efficient organic and perovskite solar cells”

Pengjun Zhao  

“Controlled interface charge transfer behaviour in perovskite solar cells by molecular design"

Saghar Masoomigodarzi

''Designing new singlet fission material for 3rd generation organic solar cell''

Bolong Zhang

“Selectively aligning donor-emitter fluorophore pairs in a luminescent solar concentrator”

Gagandeep Ahluwalia

“Designing asymmetric monomers for controlled polymerisations”

Sonam Saxena

“Nanoparticle dispersions in industrially relevant solvents for organic solar cells”


The Duong, YiLiang Wu, Heping Shen, Jun Peng, Nandi Wu, Mark Lockrey, Thomas White, Klaus Weber and Kylie Catchpole

“Light and elevated Temperature Induced Degradation (LeTID) in Perovskite Solar Cells and Development of Stable Semi-transparent Cells”

Thien Truong and Hieu Nguyen

“Hydrogenation in doped poly-silicon films for passivated contacts”

Ryan Sun

“Complete regeneration of boron-oxygen defects in compensated n-type silicon heterojunction solar cells”


Kasparas Rakstys

“Interlayers for perovskite solar cells”

Aaron Raynor

“Synthesis of high dielectric materials”

Hellen Jin

"All polymer light absorbing devices”


Chang Yan


“Heterojunction heat treatment pushes Cu2ZnSnS4 solar cell efficiency beyond 11%”. 

Stephen Bremner

"Progress towards GaAsBi 1 eV sub-cells"

Stephen Bremner

"Integrating active silicon sub-cells into III-V on Si multi-junction devices"

Supriya Pillai

“Silver nanowires as a promising transparent conducting layer for tandem solar cells”".

Bram Hoex

“PV Manufacturing.Org web interface

Mattias Juhl: Compiling defects in semiconductors”

Ziv Hameiri

“Application of cathodoluminesce to prove localised recombination in Silicon and CZTS absorbers”

Ziv Hameiri

Mattias Juhl

“Temperature- and injection- dependent surface passivation assessment for field applications”

"Compiling defects in semiconductors"

Mark Keevers and Jessica Yajie Jiang 

“Progress towards a 50% efficient PV receiver”

Ziheng Liu

“Development of intermediate layers for Si-based tandem solar cells”


Jyothi Ramamurthy

“Powering the Zoos’ Sustainability Message With Printed Solar”

Taehyo Kim

“Highly Efficient Printable Transparent Organic Photovoltaics”

Yoon Chae Nah

“High Performance Ternary Organic Photovoltaics by Roll-to-Roll Printing”

Hasitha Weerasinghe

“Towards Stable Perovskite Photovoltaic Devices”

Hyungsu Jang

“Effect of IR treatment on Perovskite Solar Cells”

Xiaojin (Jack) Peng

“Ink printing Ruddlesden-Popper perovskite inks – a facile and vacuum-free approach”


Muhammad Kalim Kashif


"Transition metal complexes as charge transport materials for thin film solar cells"

Dorota Bacal

"An anti-reflective coating for back contact perovskite solar cells"

Boer Tan

"Controllable dnd Reproducible Doping of Spiro-OMeTAD in the

Absence of LiTFSI and Air: Spiro- OMeTAD(TFSI)2 in Perovskite Solar Cells with PCEs Exceeding 19%"


Day 2. Friday 7 December 2018
Venue. LG03, Tyree Energy Technologies Building (H6), UNSW Sydney

8.30 – 9.00



ACAP Director’s Welcome (Martin Green)


ARENA Summary (Emily Morton)


PP1 Summary


PP2 Perovskite Summary (Anita Ho-Baillie)




PP2 OPV, Third Generation Summary (David Jones; Gavin Conibeer)


PP3 Summary (Henner Kampwerth)


PP4 Summary (Nathan Chang)


PP5 Summary (Richard Corkish)


Closing (Martin Green, ACAP Director)


LUNCH (own arrangements)


ACAP Steering Committee Meeting (Room 208, Tyree Energy Technologies Building, UNSW)


ACAP Management Committee Meeting (Room 208, Tyree Energy Technologies Building, UNSW)


Conference close